Mudras: 7 Essential Chakra Hand Signs

Table of Contents

Mudras are hand positions used in meditation or yoga that are believed to connect the physical body with spiritual energy centers known as the chakras.

In some traditions, the purpose of performing a mudra is to help awaken kundalini energy so that it may flow through the chakras, clearing them and providing enlightenment.

Chakra Mudras

Although there are hundreds of mudras, some relate specifically to the chakras. It is thought that each finger corresponds with a different element and chakra.

Thumb – Fire & solar plexus chakra
Index finger – Air & heart chakra
Middle finger – Aether & throat chakra
Ring finger – Earth & root chakra
Pinky fingers – Water & sacral chakra

By manipulating our fingers into different positions, we direct our body’s energy channels, known as prana. The basic techniques shown below will help you gain chakra control and can be used during yoga practice, meditation or pranayama.

Muladhara Mudra

Chakra; Root Chakra

A very common mudra also known as the Gyan mudra performed by touching your thumb and index finger together and having your arm out straight, resting on your knees.

Root Chakra Hand Signs

Swadhisthana Mudra

Chakra; Sacral Chakra

Place your hands in your lap with your palms facing upwards. Right palm resting gently on top of the left.

Sacral Chakra Hand Signs

Manipura Mudra

Chakra; Solar Plexus Chakra

Put your hands together in a prayer position, one thumb resting over the other. Position your hands between your heart and your stomach

Solar Plexus Chakra Hand Signs

Anahata Chakra

Chakra; Heart Chakra

Very similar to the Muladhara mudra, but position your right hand on your heart center and your left hand on your left knee, left ring finger touching your thumb.

Anahata Chakra Hand Signs

Chakra Healing Stones

Embrace a balanced life.

Purchase your Chakra Healing Crystals Set now and get FREE unlimited access to ALL MindEasy meditation courses.

Vishuudha Mudra

Chakra; Throat Chakra

Position your hand at your stomach area and interlace your fingers ending with your left index finger. Touch the tips of your thumbs together and focus your attention on your throat area.

Thorat Chakra Hand Signs

Anja Mudra

Chakra; Ajna/ Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra mudra is performed by positioning your hands in front of your lower breast, touching the fingertips of your middle fingers and the first knuckle of your other fingers together.

Crown Chakra Hand Signs

Sahasrara Mudra

Chakra; Sahasrara/ Crown Chakra

Hands in front of your stomach. Interlace all of your fingers, apart from your little fingers that should be facing upwards.

Connection to the Chakra’s

The seven chakras are spaces in the subtle body between the physical body and the aura.

The subtle body contains all of the physical elements of the body, including chakras, meridians, and prana.

These subtle energy fields are invisible to most people and have to be accessed through meditation or other religious practices.

By bringing our chakras into balance, we can enhance our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual well-being.

Griff Williams

MindEasy founder & meditation teacher

Griff Williams is an accredited meditation teacher and founder of MindEasy. He spent 12 years working as a London firefighter before changing paths to pursue building MindEasy. He received his diploma in meditation teaching from The British School of Meditation.