Aura Colours and their Meanings

Table of Contents

We all know someone who walks into a room and instantly livens the place up. Likewise, we all know those people who bring a sense of calm to everything they do.

Ever been able to tell someone is in a bad mood without them even saying anything? All of this comes down to the colour of their aura.

Even if you’ve never thought about an ‘aura’ specifically, it’s likely you’ve noticed and responded to the kind of energy a person is giving off.

To discover your dominant aura check out our quick aura quiz.

What is an Aura?

An aura is thought of as an invisible field of energy that surrounds a person’s physical body. Each colour links to one of our body’s chakras, a spinning wheel of energy inside our bodies.

Unlike our personalities which only change slightly over time, our auras are fluid and changing. They are affected by our emotional and physical state and the emotional state of those around us. Auras are usually made up of a combination of colours, with some colours becoming clearer and more dominant than others at certain times.

It’s possible to spot your aura by softening your eyes and looking into a mirror, or you can have your aura photographed at an aura reading.

The Aura Colours and their Meanings

As you might have guessed, those with a red aura are energized, fiery and proud. This aura color means quick-thinking and well-connected to the physical world. Passionate and restless, a person with red in their aura will bring powerful energy to the room.

Red is the colour of the root chakra, which is why those with red in their aura appear to be grounded and stable.

However, if the red is murky or dark, the person may be struggling with anger, impatience or exhaustion.

Red Aura

Orange is the colour of the sacral chakra, which is related to creativity, sensuality and sexual energy.

Those with orange in their aura often place high value on their friendships. They are highly perceptive, dynamic and friendly, constantly craving new experiences and excitement.

At their unhealthiest, those with an orange aura may be prone to addiction and commitment issues.

Orange aura

You’ll always know when a yellow aura has entered the room! Cheerful, sunny and charismatic, those with a yellow aura radiate joy to those around them.

Yellow is related to the solar plexus chakra, which rules our intellect and self-esteem. As a result, those with yellow auras are natural leaders, confident and great motivators.

However, if the yellow in someone’s aura looks dull, dense or dark, the person may be struggling with overconfidence, perfectionism or harsh self-criticism.

Yellow aura

Those with green in their aura bring a sense of calmness to whoever they come into contact with.

Green is related to the heart chakra, and as a result a green aura usually implies that the person is loving and peaceful. They tend to radiate love towards all humans, animals and beings, and they are highly creative.

If the green in someone’s aura looks dark or murky, they may be struggling with jealousy or over-sensitivity. Those with green auras are often very sensitive to the energy of others.

Green aura

Pink is another colour related to the heart chakra. A pink aura implies the person is kind, caring and loving.

They tend to see the good in everyone, offering a sweet and gentle take on every situation.

Those with pink auras can come across younger than they are, and they usually shy away from conflict and confrontation.

Related to the throat chakra, blue rules communication and self-expression. Those with light blue auras are great communicators, and not afraid to stand up for what they believe in.

Blue energy relates to inner knowledge, honesty and loyalty, while they also tend to be very calming people.

If the blue in someone’s aura looks murky or washed out, they may be struggling to communicate with others.

Blue aura

Indigo relates to the third eye chakra; the chakra of intuition and inner knowing. Those with indigo in their aura are very sensitive to the energy of others, and find it extremely easy to read emotions and events.

They are sensitive, empathetic and highly intuitive.

If the indigo is murky or dark, they may be struggling with self-doubt, uncertainty and confusion.

Indigo aura

Violet is the colour of the crown chakra; the chakra of higher consciousness. Those with violet in their aura are dynamic and powerful. They are natural leaders, constantly wanting to make a difference.

They bring a good balance of knowledge and intuition to a situation, and are great people to talk to in a crisis!

Those with violet auras have a close connection with the universe and its energy, understanding that there is something bigger than themselves deserving of respect.

Purple aura

White Aura

A fully white aura is extremely rare, and implies the person is free from personal issues and physical problems.

Those with white in their aura alongside other colours are usually very spiritual, rejecting physical reward and instead seeking cosmic wisdom.

A white aura that looks cloudy or murky implies the person is in a state of flux. They may also be experiencing anxiety or nervous energy.

Black Aura

Black isn’t an aura colour itself, but it’s possible to spot black or very dark areas in amongst the other colours.

Patches of black imply the person is exhausted, ill or burned out.

The dark colours signify a lack of energy, and those with black in their aura should take steps to release and rebalance their chakras.

Black aura

Key Facts

  1. An aura is the energy field that surrounds you, and the colour of your aura will change depending on your mental and physical state.

  2. Having your aura photographed at an aura reading will allow you to clearly see the colours.


  3. Red is energised, strong, fiery and passionate.

  4. Orange indicates self-control, ambition and courage.


  5. A yellow aura implies the person is sunny, optimistic and charismatic.
  6. Green is peaceful, compassionate and creative.


  7. Pink relates to romance, playfulness, kindness and friendship.


  8. Blue auras indicate communication, sensitivity and loyalty.


  9. Indigo is highly intuitive, empathetic and sensitive.


  10. Those with violet auras are highly spiritual, wise and great leaders.


  11. White is very rare, and can imply freedom from physical or mental hardships.


  12. Black isn’t an aura colour itself, but can signify exhaustion, illness and burnout.