What Are Chakras?

Table of Contents

The chances are, at some point, you’ve heard about chakras. The practice of unblocking energy flow with chakra meditation is becoming increasingly popular with yoga instructors, reiki teachers and holistic practitioners.

The term itself dates back to antiquated India where its Sanskrit translations literally mean ‘spinning wheel’.
However, in Yoga and meditation, chakras refer to our seven energy centres, situated along the spine that according to ancient Vedic text and esoteric Buddhism connect the ‘subtle’, spiritual body to the physical one.

Each of these seven chakras has its own distinct purpose that correlates to a different aspect of human life.

The Seven Chakras

The Root Chakra

ColourRed Aura

Frequency396 Hz


This chakra, like its name suggests, relates to our foundations and is responsible for keeping us feeling safe and secure. It governs the way we feel about our general wellbeing, feeling protected and letting go of fear. Practically it helps us nourish ourselves as well as oversees our need for food and shelter.

When it’s blocked:
A blocked root chakra can be said to manifest issues such as arthritis, constipation, and bladder or colon problems. Psychological issues can include anxiety disorder, insecurity and poor boundaries.

The Sacral Chakra

ColourOrange Aura

Frequency417 Hz


The sacral chakra is located just below the navel and is intrinsically linked to our creative and sexual energies. It helps us connect to those around us by creating healthy boundaries when exploring new experiences.
Its power guides us to explore the world and adapt to changes using creative and artistic energy.

When it’s blocked:
A blockage in the sacral chakra can manifest issues like urinary infections, back pain and sexual dysfunction. Emotionally it can affect our feeling of self worth, lack of desire and may cause addiction-like behaviours.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

Colour – Yellow Aura

Frequency – 528Hz

Mantra – RAM

Located just above the navel, this chakra is the source of your personal power, agency and self-esteem. Associated with the ability to generate feelings of confidence and control that helps manifest desires into real life.

When it’s blocked:
A block in these energies results in low self-esteem and self-confidence, difficulty in making decisions and loss of emotional control. Physically its responsible for the digestive system so can cause issues such as ulcers, heartburn and eating disorders.

The Heart Chakra

Colour – Green Aura

Frequency – 639Hz

Mantra – YAM

Our heart chakras govern our ability to love and when properly balanced compassion, generosity and loving-kindness flow freely in both giving and receiving. The heart chakra represents where the physical and the spiritual meet and awakens spiritual awareness.

When it’s blocked:
Those with a blocked heart chakra can often end up putting others first at their own expense. As it represents our ability to love, when it is out of alignment, it can often cause feelings of loneliness, insecurity and depression.

The Throat Chakra

Colour – Blue Aura

Frequency – 741 Hz

Mantra – HAM

The throat chakra governs all areas to do with communication. That means listening and communicating with others but also being able to listen to ourselves, hearing inner feeling and speaking truths. It’s responsible for how we express ourselves and is connected to confidence and understanding.

When it’s blocked:
As you would expect, when this chakra is blocked, it hinders our ability to communicate clearly and may find it difficult putting your feelings into words. Physical issues may manifest as sore throat and gums and other problems encountered around the mouth area.

Third Eye Chakra


Colour – Indigo Aura

Frequency – 852 Hz

Mantra – OM

Perception, imagination, memory and wisdom are all the domain of the third eye chakra. Located behind the forehead and between the eyebrows, this chakra is the spiritual centre of intuition and insight. It serves as the link between the inner and outer worlds, allowing you to cut through the illusion and to see clearly.

When it’s blocked:
Physical symptoms of a blocked third eye chakra will manifest as headaches, hearing problems and issues with sight. You will also find it hard to feel you natural intuitions and may feel self-doubt when you do.

The Crown Chakra


Colour – Purple Aura

Frequency – 963 Hz

Mantra – OM

The final chakra, also sometimes called the “thousand petal lotus” chakra is located at the top of the head and is the meeting point between individual consciousness and universal consciousness. It is considered to be the most spiritual of the chakras and rules our potential for spiritual awakening and connection to the divine.

When it’s blocked:
When the crown chakra is blocked, it can leave you feeling disconnected from life with a lack of direction and purpose. When you meet people with a blocked crown chakra, they will seem narrow-minded, sceptical and stubborn.

How to unblock your chakras with chakra meditation

One form of chakra meditation uses Solfeggio frequencies combined with a guided meditation to restore balance to all or individual chakras.

Each chakra has a musical vibration that corresponds to it called a Solfeggio frequency. By listening to these tones, you can create an instant connection to your chakra’s and feel your energy flowing freely, moving with the natural rhythms of your body.