10 Easy Steps to Practice a Chakra Meditation

Table of Contents

A chakra meditation is a specific type of meditation, with the aim of rebalancing and opening the energy wheels in the body.

For those new to meditation, a chakra practice can feel a little intimidating.

But you don’t need endless knowledge of Buddhism and decades of experience to practice a chakra meditation, and this style of meditation can be beneficial to just about anyone

Make Mindfulness Easy

Join over 50’000 people on their meditation journey.

What are Chakras?

There are 7 main chakras in the body. These refer to wheels of energy that help keep the body in balance. Each chakra relates to a specific physical system and mental or spiritual quality.

Chakras can become either blocked or overactive, pushing the body out of balance and preventing us from functioning optimally. 

In Sanskrit, the word ‘chakra’ means wheel or disc. The chakras are wheels of energy in your body, a bundle of spinning energy that helps keep the body balanced and functioning correctly.

For optimum mental, physical and spiritual wellbeing, the chakras need to stay open or unblocked. A closed chakra will put the body out of balance, and we may find ourselves more unstable.

The 7 main chakras are the root chakra, sacral chakra, solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra, third eye chakra and crown chakra. They run from the bottom of your spine to the crown of your head.

The root chakra helps us feel grounded and safe, while the sacral chakra is responsible for sexual and creative energy.

The solar plexus chakra is responsible for confidence, and the heart chakra is for love and compassion.

chakra meditation - seven chakras
The Sanskrit symbols for the severn chakras

The ability to communicate is controlled by the throat chakra, while the third eye chakra controls instinct and intuition.

Finally, the crown chakra is responsible for spirituality.
Alongside the mental and spiritual qualities, the chakras can help physical systems in the body to run smoothly.

When a chakra gets low on energy or blocked, you may struggle to express the qualities associated with that chakra. Overactive chakras are also common. An overactive chakra will be too dominant, causing the other chakras to become stagnant.

An overactive sacral chakra for example, may lead us to neglect compassion and kindness in pursuit of either creative or sexual gratification. On the other hand, if the sacral chakra is blocked, we may find we struggle to express ourselves creatively.

chakra meditation - A women practices chakra meditation
Chakra meditation can lead to better physical, mental and spiritual well being.

Tools to Help Open your Chakras

To open and rebalance your chakras, a combination of yoga, chakra meditation and sound therapy can be helpful.

MindEasy offers an 8 step meditation course, designed to unblock energy pathways and rebalance your body. 

Different yoga postures can help to open each of the 7 chakras. Balancing poses can bring you back to earth, helping to unblock the root chakra. Pelvic floor exercises and hip openers can strengthen the sacral chakra, while chest openers can bring energy to the heart chakra. 

The MindEasy Chakra Meditation Course uses sound therapy to change your brain waves and rebalance the chakras. The course combines guided meditation with solfeggio frequencies for maximum benefits. This 8 day course offers a specific meditation for each of the 7 chakras and is led by our wonderful teacher Nathan.

How to Practice Chakra Meditation

While guided meditations are the best option for beginners, chakra meditations can also be practiced independently.

  1. To start, sit in comfortable position with your back straight.

  2. Allow your breathing to become deeper and try to feel yourself come into the present moment.

  3. Begin to focus on the feeling of your chest rising and falling. When you mind wanders, bring it back to the breath. Be kind to yourself and return to your breath without judgement.

  4. Start to notice how the parts of your body work together harmoniously, with the breath keeping it all functioning.

  5. Focus on each of the 7 chakras, starting with the root chakra in your lower back. Try to imagine a spiral of glowing energy, and picture it getting brighter with each breath.

  6. Work your way up to the sacral chakra just above the pubic bone. Imagine it as a glowing wheel of energy.

  7. Move to the solar plexus chakra in the upper abdomen, using the same visualisation to make it brighter.

  8. Turn your attention to your heart chakra, the throat chakra, and the third eye chakra on your forehead, and finally the crown chakra on the top of your head. Spend as much time as you need nourishing each chakra with the breath.

  9. Finally, imagine all the chakras working together in harmony. Each chakra should feel bright and energised.

  10. Gently open your eyes and spend a few minutes paying attention to your body and its systems 

Benefits of a Chakra Meditation

A regular chakra meditation can lead to better physical, mental and spiritual well being.

Each chakra brings about its own unique set of benefits. Alongside these, you’ll experience all the classic benefits of meditation, including improved focus, greater relaxation and lower blood pressure. 

Chakra meditation is one of the best ways to release blocked energy and nourish each chakra. As each chakra relates to a certain mental, physical, and spiritual quality, opening the chakras can better balance your life.

An energised root chakra will help you to feel secure and stable. You may find yourself less anxious about the future, and you’ll be better equipped to handle stressful situations.

Energising the sacral chakra can help you get out of a creative rut, while also helping to think clearly and find joy in the simple things.

Opening the solar plexus chakra can ease digestion and boost mental and spiritual growth. You’ll feel more energised and able to think outside the box as a way of solving problems.

The heart chakra relates to love and compassion. On a physical level, energising the heart chakra can lead to better circulation. You’ll also feel and show more compassion both towards yourself and others.

Opening the throat chakra will help you to better communicate with others. You may feel more independent, with a better sense of security.

The third eye chakra is about intuition and self awareness. You’ll learn to trust your gut and communicate with your higher self.

Finally, the crown chakra. This is found at the top of your head and relates to universal consciousness and knowledge.

Opening the crown chakra can help you to open your mind and understand that there is more to life than our physical experiences.

Key Facts

  1. There are 7 main chakras in our body, running from the base of our spine to the crown of our head.


  2. Each chakra is a wheel of energy that relates to specific physical, mental and spiritual qualities.


  3. Keeping the chakras in balance is key to optimum wellbeing, and when the chakras become unbalanced, we may suffer emotionally and physically.


  4. The MindEasy Chakra Meditation Course uses specific sound frequencies to open each chakra and rebalance the body.


  5. Specific yoga postures can also help to energise each chakra.>


  6. Unblocking a chakra will lead to physical and mental benefits related to that specific chakra.